Celebrating the successes of Sydney Campus graduates

Sydney Graduation Ceremonies – Sydney Town Hall

22 March 2017

The University of Notre Dame Australia celebrated the academic achievements of 1035 graduates at the Sydney Campus Graduation and Annual Awards Ceremonies on Tuesday 14 March 2017.

The historic Sydney Town Hall provided the perfect backdrop for the Notre Dame community to recognise the success of its graduates and commemorate the beginning of their journey as people of inspiration in their future professions.

As part of the first Graduation Ceremony, Notre Dame conferred a Doctor of Education on Brother Patrick Howlett FMS for his commitment to and advancement of Catholic education in New South Wales.

Brother Patrick has been a pioneer of Catholic education in the Marist tradition for more than 50 years. He is specifically recognised for the introduction of project-based learning (PBL) in the classroom at Parramatta Marist High School – the oldest Catholic school in Australia – where he has been Principal since 2002.

“To receive this award at Notre Dame is not only an acknowledgement of my achievements, but also those of teachers and educators with whom I have worked throughout my career,” Br Patrick said.

It was a special occasion too for 11 graduates who were conferred higher degrees by research: Eileen Gleeson (Master of Business); Louise Johnston (Master of Education); Martin Bain [Education], Jonathan Coates [Education], Patrick Langrell [Philosophy & Theology], Melissa Locke [Education], Jennifer Walter [Arts & Sciences] and Wayne Wheatley [Education] (Master of Philosophy); Norman Blumenthal (Master of Science – Medicine); Dr Yasar Alani (Doctor of Business Administration); and Dr Linda Bellen (Doctor of Philosophy – Education).

Monica Cunneen (Bachelor of Education (Secondary) and Arts) and Natasha Stark (Bachelor of Medicine / Bachelor of Surgery (First Class Honours)) were the highest achievers in their graduating cohorts. They attributed their success to the welcoming and personalised learning environment at Notre Dame.

Professor Celia Hammond, Notre Dame’s Vice Chancellor, congratulated the University’s newest graduates and wished them well on their personal and professional journeys.

“As you leave Notre Dame today, we hope and pray that you will continue to develop your gifts, skills and talents and use them to serve the common good; that you will be confident in your skills and ability, but humble in dealing with others,” said Professor Hammond in her graduation address.

In 2016/17, Notre Dame has held a total of nine Graduation Ceremonies and farewelled more than 2500 students from its three campuses in Sydney, Fremantle and Broome.

Please visit nd.edu.au for photo galleries, videos and links to presentations delivered at Notre Dame’s Graduation Ceremonies nationally.

Sydney Campus graduates celebrate on the steps of the Sydney Town Hall

Professor Celia Hammond, Notre Dame Vice Chancellor, presents Tim Perkins with the Vice Chancellor’s Award for Initiatives that Enhance Student Learning

2016 Sydney Campus Annual Awards

As part of the Graduation Ceremonies, Notre Dame recognised the outstanding achievements of students, graduates and staff on the Sydney Campus during the course of the 2016 academic year. The recipients of the University Awards are as follows:

  • The Archbishop Anthony Fisher OP Prize – Zoe McCorquodale
  • The Archbishop of Sydney Prize for Excellence in Postgraduate Theology – Jacinta Vella
  • Vice Chancellor's Medal 2016
    • School of Arts & Sciences – Jessica Stevenson
    • School of Business – Taylor Deacon-King
    • School of Education – Toria Marshall, Ashley Sol
    • School of Law – Olivia Vallieres
    • School of Medicine – Samantha Kurniawan
    • School of Nursing – Madeleine Pearman
    • School of Philosophy & Theology – Dominica Altakchy
  • Vice Chancellor's Coursework Postgraduate Medal 2016 – James Arblaster
  • Vice Chancellor's Awards for Initiatives that Enhance Student Learning – Dr Sean Kearney and Tim Perkins (School of Education)
  • Vice Chancellor's Awards for Teaching – Maree Piper (School of Business)
  • University Medal 2016 – Alice Anderson


Leigh Dawson: Tel (08) 9433 0569; Mob 0405 441 093; leigh.dawson@nd.edu.au