Tertiary Education Quality Standards Agency (TEQSA)

The Tertiary Education Quality Standards Agency TEQSA is a national regulatory body under the Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency Act 2011 (TEQSA Act 2011). TEQSA registers and evaluates the performance of higher education providers against the Higher Education Standards Framework (Threshold Standards, 2011). The Standards Framework comprises five domains: Provider Standards, Qualification Standards, Teaching and Learning Standards, Information Standards and Research Standards. The Provider Standards and Qualifications Standards are collectively the Threshold Standards which all providers must meet in order to enter and remain within Australia's higher education system. TEQSA undertake both compliance assessments and quality assessments.

TEQSA is the designated authority for the Education Service for Overseas Students (ESOS) and the Commonwealth Register of Institutions and Courses for Overseas Students (CRICOS). It is also responsible for establishing and maintaining a National Register of Higher Education Providers. Under the TEQSA Act, an institution must be registered by TEQSA in order to operate as a higher education provider in Australia.

Useful Links

Regulatory Framework

What's New

Contact details for further information:
Further questions in relation to TEQSA Audits at Notre Dame can be directed to the Quality Management Office.